Cherry Almond Granola

If you follow my blog, then you know that I am a big fan of oats. They are so versatile and great for baking. Although I already had a recipe for buckwheat granola, which I adore, I decided to try a new granola recipe using oats. This granola is super easy to make; you probably already have most, if not all, ingredients in your pantry. I love to use this granola to top my vanilla soy yogurt for breakfast or prepackage it in a plastic bag to take it on the go for a snack. If you don’t have dried cherries, any other dried fruit will make an acceptable substitute. If you are looking for a sweeter, more dessert like granola recipe, you could add either two tablespoons of honey, agave, brown sugar, or even some dairy free chocolate chips!

IMG_0127

Cherry Almond Granola

Serves 4

1 cup of gluten free rolled oats

1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1 tablespoon of chopped almonds

2 tablespoons of dried cherries

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Mix all of the ingredients together in a large bowl, and then spread them evenly on the baking sheet. Bake for thirty minutes, flipping once, half-way through. Enjoy!

IMG_0129

Speak your mind!